Sign Up / Log In

How Do I Securely Empty Trash In Mac OS X?

Question:

How can I make sure that when I empty the trash in OS X that everything is actually erased and cannot be recovered?
- Asked by Sean C. November 7th, 2011 (Updated: December 9th, 2014)

Answer:

There is a setting in OS X that allows you to securely empty your trash. In the Finder, go to Finder -> Preferences (or Command-,). Click on the Advanced tab and select the option that reads " Empty Trash securely". Be careful though, once you empty the trash with this method that data cannot be recovered.

Bookmarks
Bookmarks